Reading Diversity for 2007

January 7, 2007

I’m joining in the fun of Kate’s “Reading Across Borders Challenge

Here is the list of books I will be reading:

Sentimental Education by Gustave Flaubert
Pale Fire by Vladamir Nabokov
Epic of Gilgamesh Anonymous
Dubliners by James Joyce
Hunger by Knut Hamsun
Diary of a Madman and other Stories by Lu Xun
The Magic Mountain by Thomas Mann
The Book of Disquiet by Fernando Pessoa
The Vendor of Sweets by R. K. Narayan
Snow Country by Yasunari Kawabata

This will also help with another goal for this year. Since I already have 7 of these on my shelves without having read them yet, it will help to reduce the to-be-read list. I’m committing to read 3 books that I already own for each 1 that I buy this year. I often purchase books that look interesting or that someone has suggested in a litblog, and then don’t read them right away. (It is also something of an addiction- Like many others, I love to shop for books).

There is nothing like reading a book at just the right time in one’s life- it just seems to be much more meaningful and memorable. It is not a common occurrence, but as I select the next book to read I am always striving for that.

3 Responses to “Reading Diversity for 2007”

  1. Dorothy W. Says:

    Very interesting list. Kate’s challenge is going to teach me lots about books. I’m not familiar with Lu Xun or Fernando Pessoa, or R.K. Narayan, so I must look into them!


  2. Thanks for sharing this information. Really is pack with new knowledge. Keep them coming.

  3. Best Home Says:

    This is very nice and informative post. I have bookmarked your site in order to find out your post in the future.


Leave a Reply

