There is no place like home

February 11, 2007

Travel is fun, but getting home is so nice. I missed the Internet and reading your blogs. I missed my books and all those little things that one takes for granted until they are gone. But I did get to make a trip to not one, but two Half-Priced bookstores. According to the back of the bookmark they gave me with my purchases, there are many of these in the Dallas region. Here are the books I was able to check off from my list:

  • A High Wind in Jamaica by Richard Hughes
  • Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood
  • Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys
  • Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K. Jerome
  • Snow Country by Yasunari Kawabata
  • A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf
  • The Death of the Heart by Elizabeth Bowen

In addition to the flights, I had a 3 hour layover in Detroit, so I managed to read both Snow Country and all but a few pages of Three Men in a Boat. That brings to mind a pet peeve- I hate having to stop reading a book with only 20 or so pages remaining. I’ll give my impressions of those two books later today. Now I have to catch up on my favorite blogs.

4 Responses to “There is no place like home”

  1. Dorothy W. Says:

    Nice collection of books there! I’d like to read Bowen one day, and the Atwood book.

  2. imani Says:

    How did you like the Richard Hughes? He has turned into something of a favourite of mine.

  3. Brad Says:

    I haven’t read the Hughes yet, but I am looking forward to it. Have you read A High Wind in Jamaica?

  4. imani Says:

    I did last year and found it rather exceptional. His depiction of the children was exquisitely on point and he struck the right balance between light absurdity and grim, violent reality. It was so, so good.


Leave a Reply

