Three Men in a Boat

February 11, 2007

3menThree Men in a Boat (To say nothing of the Dog!), is a quick and easy read that is guaranteed to provide multiple internal chuckles, or outright laughter to the less restrained. The boat trip that is the focus of the “plot” merely provides the setting for the digressions of the author, Jerome K. Jerome. The author can take the most ordinary circumstances and a simple trip up the Thames river with a few friends and a dog, and create scenes of hilarity. I find myself thinking that it would likely have been a blast to hang out with Jerome.

If a light novel and humor found in the simplest situations interests you, this book will fulfill that need. I was a bit disappointed, and the problem is mine and not the fault of the novel or the author. Within the first couple of pages, I immediately started what for me was an unavoidable comparison with Dicken’s Pickwick Papers. It may be that I have always loved Dicken’s, and particularly his unique characters and their development. I liked Pickwick Papers enough to have read it twice (even though Bleak House is my favorite). Dickens novel, which admittedly was much denser, and surely not a quick read, was just so much more, well, satisfying. I wish I had read Jerome’s novel first- I’m sure I would have enjoyed it more.

I fully expect that many will disagree and prefer Jerome to the Dickens. I can understand that and would not argue the point.

2 Responses to “Three Men in a Boat”

  1. angelblush Says:

    sounds interesting 🙂

  2. jenclair Says:

    Bleak House is my favorite Dickens, too. Funny, last night Sam Houston (over at Book Chase )posted about 1886 copies of Dickens’ novels on Ebay. I almost bid on Bleak House.

    I read To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Wills several years ago, but haven’t read Three Men in a Boat. Wills’ version was a scifantasy and fun. I need to reread it.


Leave a Reply

