Ummm… Love Stories?

February 15, 2007

Valentines day questions from Booking Through Thursday
Love stories? Yes or No?
Ok, I’ll admit it. Love is not gender specific and life in all it’s aspects makes for interesting reading.

If yes, “romances” as a genre? Or just, well, stories that have love stories? (Nobody’s going to call “Pride & Prejudice” a “romance,” right?)
I have not read what I would call the typical “romance novel”. But even Dirda’s Book by Book listed the top 10 love stories of the last 25 years. Having enjoyed a few of them, I have purchased others that sounded interesting. Here is his list- I bet you see at least one favorite.

  1. Light Years, James Salter
  2. Darconvilles’s Cat, Alexander Theroux
  3. Little, Big, John Crowley
  4. Possession: A Romance, A.S. Byatt
  5. The God of Small Things, Arundhati Roy
  6. The Blue Flower, Penelope Fitzgerald
  7. Fairness, Ferdinand Mount
  8. The Married Man, Edmund White
  9. The Dying Animal, Philip Roth
  10. On Beauty, Zadie Smith
One Response to “Ummm… Love Stories?”

  1. w Says:

    Very interesting. Me, I think I’ve had my fill of romance stories, as I’d gobbled up the genre as a teenager and now no longer have the stomach for reading (or even writing) such stories, genre or not. One book I proofread over the summer, Changing Light by Nora Gallagher, is a love story—written very nicely, but for me it got a little too much with the staring into each other’s eyes and all. The book’s been well reviewed, though, so I’m sure it’s just my odd prejudice.

    I do have Theroux’s book around somewhere; maybe I’ll dig it up and give it a try. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

