Happy to be Back Online

March 20, 2007

Hawthorn Suites
We had a nice visit with my son and his wife in Georgia. I’ve been back for a while but have been spending a lot of time getting caught up at work. One of the hidden costs of vacationing. My son made it to Kuwait and within a few days will complete the trip to Baghdad. I picked up a few books during my wife’s shopping excursions, and managed to read a few in the past couple of weeks. I picked up a couple of books about reading, since they are easy to read in a disjointed manner- sometimes if I let a novel set for a few days after starting it, I lose the feeling or mood of the book and it is difficult to start it again.

The books I read are John Sutherland’s How to Read a Novel: A User’s Guide. I also read How to Read Literature Like a Professor: A Lively and Entertaining Guide to Reading Between the Lines, by Thomas C. Foster. Both were interesting in quite different ways. I will write more about them later. The other book that I completed was from my list of Japanese literature. The Pillow Book of Sei Shonagon was wonderful and very different from what was expected. More on that later too. I also put a bigger dent in The Tale of Genji.

We did have one rather exciting experience. We were in Columbus, Georgia the day that all of the tornadoes struck the region. We were sitting in a restaraunt and had just finished dinner when the lights flickered. I had just given my credit card to the waitress when the lights went out for good. The staff told us that it was coming and everyone was instructed to get under the tables. It sounds exactly like it is typically described- a freight train passing through. We were lucky and only lost a lot of roofing. The MacDonald’s next to us was pretty devastated, and the hotel on the other side lost a good portion of its roof. Across the street, a drug store took a direct hit and a good portion of one side of the concrete building was just gone. It took over an hour before we were able to get out of the area since power lines were down everywhere. We waited it out in front of the hotel that had lost part of the roof and top floor. I can’t find a picture of our restaraunt, but the picture at the top is the hotel where we stood waiting for traffic to get moving. The following is the Eckard’s drug store on the other side of the parkway-

Eckard’s

There were injuries in the area, but fortunately there were no deaths from this one. There were a few bigger ones in both Georgia and Alabama that were devastating. It was an experience that I will never forget.

5 Responses to “Happy to be Back Online”

  1. w Says:

    Welcome back, Brad! Your voice has been sorely missed. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on the books you finished. And am still sending positive vibes to you and your family.

  2. Stefanie Says:

    OMG! Welcome back. You had quite an eventful trip. I hope your son returns home safely.

  3. Cam Says:

    I read a few chapters of Foster’s book over the weekend. Looking forward to reading what you think about it.

    I’m sure that tornado was terrifying. I was in one as a child & still recall it vividly. Glad you were not hurt.

  4. Brad Says:

    w. – Thanks. I missed you and reading your blog. I have a lot of catching up to do.

    Stefanie – It was eventful. I know the odds of winning the lottery is typically equated with getting struck by lightning, but I ended up by a ticket just in case… didn’t work.

    Cam – I hope you enjoy the Foster. It was especially interesting for me because I only took a couple of literature classes in college quite a few years ago and don’t remember a lot of it. It has made me think a lot more and look for things as I am reading.
    The thing I remember most vividly about the tornado was the noise and then the even more intense quiet immediately after, not really knowing if it was over or not.

  5. imani Says:

    Happy to see you back and blogging. 🙂


Leave a Reply

