My Brother is my Uncle

May 17, 2007

I’ve been tagged by gentle reader for the eight things about me meme. The rules are as follows:

  1. Each player starts with 8 random facts/habits about themselves.
  2. People who are tagged, write a blog post about their own 8 random things, and post these rules.
  3. At the end of your post you need to tag 8 people and include their names.
  4. Donโ€™t forget to leave them a comment and tell them theyโ€™re tagged, and to read your blog.

I have not written much about my life on this blog, so I think these will all be new items.

  1. My brother is my Uncle- not really, and it sounds weird and almost illegal, but- I met my brother’s niece (by marriage) so after we got married her uncle became her brother-in-law, so my brother kind of became my uncle and no, there is no blood relationship and it is legal in all 50 states so you can all lower your eyebrows. ๐Ÿ™‚
  2. I was using the Internet before there was a World-Wide-Web. I started with a Commodore 64 and a 300-baud modem and once dialed in the only access was via telnet or ftp to Unix servers.
  3. About 5 years ago I couldn’t jog to the end of the driveway, but January 1st of that year I did, and then went a little farther the next day, and farther the next, and in October of that year I ran in the Twin Cities marathon. Over the next couple of years I finished 2 more marathons. I then gave it up since the training is so time consuming, especially for us slower runners.
  4. I’ve always been interested in the world and everything around me, from the skies to the backyard. I get hooked on something and read everything that I can about it. I can look at the sky and name many stars, and drive down the road and know what each of the trees and flowers are that I pass. I usually get bored after a certain point and move on to something else.
  5. Since I got out of high school I regretted not learning to play the piano. Early last year I finally decided to start lessons and I have really been enjoying it. I have no plans to ever entertain anyone other than myself. Note- It is never too late to learn something new.
  6. I’ve worked in Information Technology most of my life, for the days of punch cards and a mainframe that filled a room half the size of a football field, to this day when my laptop has more power than that room sized mainframe.
  7. In a couple of weeks, I will have been married for 31 years.
  8. Like most, I enjoy traveling. I went through a time when I didn’t like the lengthy car trips and preferred to fly if possible, but have since learned to enjoy seeing the country from the road.

Seems like most have already done this, so I’m on a quest to find those who haven’t so that I can tag them. I have enjoyed reading everyone else’s lists.

15 Responses to “My Brother is my Uncle”

  1. Matt Says:

    It took me a minute to process #1, that is interesting how that worked out. I remember the old Commodore 64, that was our first family computer. I remember you could program your own simple games on it. And I am always impressed when people run marathons, never been much of a runner…

  2. Robin Says:

    Thanks for tagging me, Brad. Your 8 facts were fun to read! I remember those punch cards and the huge computer that took up so much space, and the Commodore 64. I, too, get hooked on things and learn everything I can about them, and then move on to something else. And congratulations on those 31 years…!

  3. LK Says:

    That first one sort of sounded like Chinatown for a second…

    31 years! That’s great, congratulations.

    Thanks so much for sharing.

  4. Dorothy W. Says:

    I’m so impressed by #3 — running a marathon is awesome! And congrats on the anniversary.

  5. Stefanie Says:

    Great facts Brad! I remember the Commodore 64! I didn’t have one but I wanted one soooo bad. Congrats on the upcoming anniversary!


  6. Congrats on the 31 years of marriage! That’s great! I’m impressed by the marathon running, too. Okay, it took me awhile to figure out #1, but now I get it, I think…I’ve enjoyed the 8 things about you–thanks!

  7. litlove Says:

    I’m impressed by the marathon running and the piano playing (not to mention the 31 years!). I do like the thought that life can be perpetually full of learning and doing new things, even if some good old things stay the same ๐Ÿ™‚


  8. Apparently Murakami decided quite late in life to run marathons and hasn’t stopped since. I also find it really impressive. Despite giving up marathons, do you still run for recreation/fitness?

    Number 4 is also interesting. It’s the kind of thing I would like to be able to do, but owing to my laziness I never achieve.

    I guess I’m tagged now so will post my eight things soon.

  9. w Says:

    Brad, I just posted mine. Now I can sleep! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. w Says:

    P.S. How rude of me for not mentioning while I’m here: I really enjoyed your 8 items. The title of your post alone deserves special recognition. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I so admire you for all the new things you try. I would love to get into jogging, and this might just be push to get me started.

  11. Kristin Says:

    I had to read #1 4 times before I finally understood! I surfed over here from dewey’s blogroll game…great site!

  12. Camille Says:

    I had a Commodore 128 and you had to type in GO 64 to get it into 64 mode to play games.

    I’m just like you with number 4. That’s why I call myself the Dabbling Dilettante.

    And I love that you wrote it’s never too late to learn something new. I agree wholeheartedly.


  13. First of all I want to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing. I’ve had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my
    ideas out there. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted
    just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints?
    Thank you!


  14. I am actually grateful to the holder of this website who has shared this impressive
    article at at this place.


  15. I have always disliked the idea because of thhe expenses.


Leave a Reply

